Makeup 101

I haven’t been sewing of late and I do apologize. However, I am working on something right now, I just need to decide on the design and the rest will come easy.

A few things happened recently that has gotten me really excited.

Firstly, I have officially become a Godmother on 2 May 2013 to a beautiful baby girl named Isabelle. Dear Isabelle, you are born into a loving, caring and beautiful family and because of you, I am part of it. And for that, I am grateful. ๐Ÿ™‚

I shall resist the temptation of putting up a picture of baby Isabelle before mama and papa sim does so on their own blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

On a vastly different note, I have finally started to learn about makeup and why women spend hundreds on them every year. Ok, maybe month for some of us. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I want to firstly STRONGLY dispute the notion that women who wears makeup are shallow and uppity, while women who don’t are innocent and pure. Too many a times I have heard men say that they prefer woman who doesn’t wear makeup and girls despising each other just because some of us wear makeup and some of us don’t. While I understand the appeal of natural and clean look, many people have gotten the concept of makeup wrong.

It was never the intention of makeup to cover up flaws; it is to accentuate our assets.

That being said, too much makeup is not good for anyone. (When is too much of anything ever good anyway?)

Makeup, for me, is a form of expression. It is like the clothes on my back and the shoes I wear. I choose them on a daily basis to reflect my mood, or on some days, change my mood if I am feeling down. There are many makeup gurus on youtube who do wonderful makeup, not for the sake of covering up your flaws, but just for the fun of mixing up colours and dressing up for events.

Playing With Colours

2 of my absolute favourites are jazziebabycakes and missjbm22. They put up tutorials of the most beautifully colourful makeup. So if you like playing with colours, check them out.

On free days, I like to take out my makeup and just play around with the colours to see which best suits my skin tone and what colour combination I can come up with. I like Sugarpill cosmetics when it comes to vibrant colours just because the colours are so rich and easy to blend. Unfortunately they don’t have it in Singapore. So far only this website sells some of Sugarpill makeup. But buying direct from US isn’t so bad. Mine arrived in a week. But for those of us who would rather not spend so much, many popular cosmetic brand do have colourful eyeshadows too. But just not with the same intensity and matte colour rage as Sugarpill’s.

Also, missjbm22 also uses makeup products that aren’t exactly going to blow a hole in your pockets. ELF and NYX have awesome eyeshadow palettes and cream eyeshadow sticks respectively. Elf also hasย  affordable (below $10.00) makeup brushes that does the job just as well as those really expensive ones. All these items can’t be found in singapore but can be bought on Q0010.

Everyday Makeup

1 makeup artist I like to follow for more subtle looks is the Korean makeup artist jungsaemmool. Her makeup techniques are sutiable for day time to dinner time and just look at the way she puts on makeup for the models. She makes cosmetic look like a form of art.

I especially like watching her tutorials because her makeup is light enough to accentuate the model’s looks without covering up or overshadowing their features. In other words, they still look like themselves, which is saying something. I looked like a totally different person during my wedding makeup shoot. Although, wedding photo shoots makeup are traditionally more heavy.

It is sometimes hard to buy Korean makeup products in Singapore, so I usually go to Q0010 to buy them. They are cheaper and have a wide variety. To tell you the truth, most of my makeup are bought online. Of course, research thoroughly on the product you want to buy first and check if the seller on qoo10 is reliable.

Tips and Techniques

For looks with more coverage and westernized, gossmakeupartist is perfect. He is a very knowledgeable makeup artist. Truly. From different contouring for different nose shapes to the actual proper way of applying on blush (not only on the apples of your cheeks, girls). Did I mention he has a very attractive british accent and a very pleasant personality?

Wayne introduces us to cheaper makeup products that does the job as good as those slightly more expensive ones. And a bargain is always good, isn’t it?

Other affordable makeup brands that I like are Sleek (which can be bought on Luxola and shopping district), Revlon (colourstay foundation is my favourite) and MUA (which can be bought on shopping district). The list goes on. But remember, cheap does not necessarity mean good and sometimes it pays to invest in a product that is slightly more expensive.

 

Now that I’ve shared with you some of the things I’ve learnt about makeup, there are still many issues that are important and needs to be mentioned. Like purchasing makeup that is Animal Cruelty Free (and click here for the animal cruelty free – Korea), knowing what chemicals are in your makeup and what chemicals to avoid, and loving yourself, with AND without makeup on. But that is for another blog post at another time.

Afterall, as what Wayne Goss always says, it’s just makeup. Don’t take it too seriously. Try to have fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

3 thoughts on “Makeup 101

  1. Pingback: Makeup Tutorial | No Makeup / Natural / Nude Look | AhDaLin : Meanie @ Work

Leave a Reply

