Until Both Our Cars Collide

With the recent news of MCR’s breakup, I not only weep for the concerts I will never go to, and the new songs I will never hear, I also weep for the fact that the music world has lost another great.

It may seem on the surface that My Chemical Romance is but another group among many others who produced rage songs motivated by silly anger issues and emotional baggages. But theirs are words and music of raw emotions. Their music grew, as they grew from boys to men, from boyfriends to husbands, from sons to fathers. And I am glad I grew up with them and saw them make such music in a time where the music industry churns out songs that don’t even make any sense but manage to make it to the top.

This is a band who came together and created songs that to me are like poems with music. And so when I found videos of their songs sung acoustically, without compromising their fundamentals, I thought to myself how amazing.

How Gerard Way manages to sing with such passion, opened to the world, baffles me. It makes me want to dive into that mind of his. I imagine it would be a world full of animation. (I stop myself before I dive in too deep. It somehow seems wrong and redundant anyway.)

The public still can enter but a window into his mind, though. He has written and will be writing comic books, all historical, intelligent and creative. And I’m sure if you googled him, you’ll find many pictures of his work, stories of his life, and that wonderful letter on twitlonger that he wrote about MCR’s demise.

But I’d rather live in this idea that I have of MCR. An idea that somehow transforms itself into a world of its own, inspiring and assiduous. Afterall, in Gerard Way’s own words, MCR is an idea. And those don’t die.

If you only have time for 1, listen to Helena, the accoustic version. It just gets to me somehow.

Leave a Reply

