My Skirt-ish Dilema

When I made this skirt, I was thinking about food – cupcakes, in particular.

My Cupcake Skirt

My Cupcake Skirt

I was in love with the yellow linen with white polka dots. It reminds me of vintage clothes that look so much better than the skimpy ones people seem to be wearing nowadays.

Everything seems to be getting smaller, clothes seem to be made with lesser cloth; the lesser, the better. Shirts, torn on the behind to reveal the bra, shorts, torn to reveal the pockets underneath… If it’s not torn, it shouldn’t be worn.

Anyway, I kept the yellow cloth long enough. I wanted to make a decent skirt out of it, to bring out its cuteness. So when I got the pink linen,  I though I’d pop it over the yellow one, pin it up with some flowers (woven from yarn) and buttons, make it look like a cupcake and voila! I’d have myself a skirt worthy of the cloth it’s been made from.

Of course now that it is finished, and has been for a while, I have no idea what to wear it with.

Just like many other clothes I get from stores. Why is that.

2 thoughts on “My Skirt-ish Dilema

Leave a Reply

