My Obsession With Korean Food

Cold Wheat Noodles

Cold  Noodles

Today is a day for Korean/Japanese delicacy.

The cold noodles is the easiest meal to prepare and it is definitely healthier than cooking instant noodles. Heavy eaters might find this too little but it is filling enough for me.

My trip to Daiso the other day and this afternoon’s lunch made me crave for more Korean food. So I decided to take out the ol’ recipe and make myself some Samgak Kimbab.

Samgak Kimbab

Samgak Kimbab

 

It looks more like an Onigiri, I know. To make a Samgak Kimbab, I needed the proper sized and shaped seaweed, but I couldn’t find it at the nearest supermarket. Also, I do not have a mold to make the triangular shape – which defines the Samgak Kimbab – only a container I bought from Disneyland some time ago to keep it in.

So I had to compromise.

The Rice

The rice needs to be suitable for sushi making. Supermarkets usually sell them, but in smaller quantities. Some soak the rice before cooking. But I have no patience. I pop in into the rice cooker and then put the cooked rice into a bowl covered by a moist cloth to let it cool. You might want to coat the bowl with sesame oil so that the rice does not stick to it.

Once the rice has cooled, I stir in the rice or apple vinegar and brown sugar mix with a pinch of salt. Generally, I use a table spoon of sugar with 2 table spoon of vinegar. But it’s best if you judge that yourself.

The ingredient

You can put anything you want into the Samgak Kimbab. The ones I eat in Korea are either tuna, spicy chicken or Kimchi. For laogong, I mashed up some crabsticks and mixed them with a bit of Japanese Mayo. For mine, I stuck with tuna with tomato and onion.

Shaping The Triangle – with a plastic bag

Because I don’t have a mold, I use things I can find at home – a clean clear plastic bag used to store food. I cut it open and line it with a little sesame oil, put some rice and some of the ingredient in, wrap it up and slowly squeeze it into a triangle. Finish this with the seaweed and you are done!
To have a clearer idea, you can watch this video. Helped me with many lunches when I was overseas.

Leave a Reply

