Stumbling Upon A Travel Book

I completed the Spongebob laptop case the evening of my last post. Should get to sending it out (sorry Steph). But I did promise to share the end product with you all, so here it is.

Spongebob Laptop bag complete

Spongebob Laptop bag complete

I’m sorry I won’t be able to keep it for myself. 🙂

A friend of mine from Paris was here with her father last week on a stopover to Indonesia. They’ll be back again next week on another stopover before returning home and this time, instead of embarrassing myself meeting them empty handed, I want to give her something. In keeping in line with the theme for next season, I’ve decided on a vintage travel book.

'pin an' Lantern

‘pin an’ Lantern

It’s not quite finished yet, but here is a peek at the cover page – a chinese lantern with the words ‘pin an’ meaning safe.  It was a joy sewing this lantern – from the ribbon flowers all the way to the yellow tassel. The yellow smudge on the blue cloth is to show a shadow-y effect of how a lantern would look were it to be lit. Right now I’m eagerly waiting for the glue to dry to I can complete this book. It’s nice to garner inspiration from the people in my life.

Tired Bunny

Tired Bunny

The little fellow has been stumbling about the house. It is getting increasingly hard for him to get anywhere with that extra weight on his leg. So he’s being treated like an emperor, having food and water brought to him and getting to eat his favourite treats more. I went to the pet store the other day to pick up his favourite fruit bites when a salesgirl recommended me some food for Nili. Upon hearing that Nili was sick and perhaps leaving us soon, she gave me some treats for free, making sure I got them by letting the cashier know.

Sometimes the world throws you a pleasant surprise by reminding you of the power of kindness. Thank you, stranger. Nili really enjoys the treats.

Leave a Reply

