Handmade Vintage Chinese Notebook And My Sleepless Nights

Old Chinese Notebook

Old Chinese Notebook

This was something I have been wanting to make for a while. And since it goes with next season’s theme – which I have yet to reveal – I thought I’d kill 2 birds with 1 stone by making the first one as a present.

Old Chinese Book - Embroidered Faces

Old Chinese Book - Embroidered Faces

It has 20 pages of blank black paper for photos and a thin rice paper in between each sheet so the photographs will not stick to each other. Also, in between each page is an open folder.

Making that reminded me of the folder/book I meant to make for myself to properly store notes of previous work.

Organizing up

Organizing up

Each page is actually an envelope for me to store all the drafts and pictures and notes on each item I have made since starting up Out Of The Shell. These envelopes are glued and sewn together into a book. So I’ll get one book for each season.

Recently I have been having trouble sleeping and concentrating on anything, even sewing. So I spend my time watching movies and TV shows. In the past few days I have watched The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, The Hulk (Edward Norton’s), Water For Elephants, The Green Hornet, New York I Love You and the whole of American Horror Story.

When I’m not watching my shows, I’m in the living room with Nili.

With His KaiLan Leaves

With His KaiLan Leaves

Perhaps I am worrying too much about things that I’ve been putting off. We’d all like to think that our problems are larger than they are to give us an excuse for the state we’re in.

I think I just have not had my favourite bubble tea for far too long. Sometimes a girl just needs her drink.

 

Leave a Reply

