Making a Circle Skirt on a Frog’s Rainy Day

“Sometimes, even frogs have rainy days.”

When I’m feeling a little worse for the weather, I just want to listen to the sound of a drizzle and turn on some Ella Fitzgerald. Sometimes, I can’t even put a finger to what it is that makes me feel this way and I just want to wish myself away to my tiny shell of a dream world until I feel better and want a nice chocolate chips cookie and a mug of marshmallow hot chocolate.

So here I am, with my headphones stuck in my ears, looking at my work desk, thinking of what I missed that made me feel this world. And I am coming up with a blank.

So I’ve decided to share with you a little side project I did before all the shifting and moving started, which by the way, is not over yet.

Circle Skirt with Tank Top

Using one of my mom’s old tank tops, and a piece of cloth I picked up from the $5 basket in a craft shop, I made myself a brand new dress. It’s a good way to reuse old clothes and clothes lying around. To make this easy to understand, I will go step by step. Here is what you will end up with:

1 quater of a circle and 1 waist band

A quarter of a circle and a long strip for your waist band.

Here’s what you need:

newspaper, 1 tank top, 1 piece of cloth for your skirt and waist band, long ruler, measuring tape, pencil.

If 1 newspaper is not big enough, you can choose to either join more pieces of newspaper together, or just draw and cut out a semi circle or a quarter of a circle for your template.

Now that you are ready, let’s begin!

Step 1: Measurements

Make sure you get all your measurements right for the skirt (here I’m using my own measurements)

waist 28 inches, length of skirt from waist 16 inches, length of waist band is same as the waist, width of waist band 2 inches.

Step 2. Template for circle skirt – Calculations

Imagine you want to make a purple skirt. This is how the template of your skirt or the top view of your skirt should look like:

Circle Skirt Template - Whole circle skirt template

Now, we do not need to draw the whole circle, we only need a semi circle or a quarter to cut out a template.

In this case, usually a quarter is enough and easier to handle.

 

First, we will have to do some calculations. Here’s how:

Circle Skirt Template 2

Points A to B is the radius of the inner circle – which is what we need to calculate.

Points B to C is the length of your skirt – in my case it is 16 inches.

Points A to C is the radius of the outer circle – not important.

What we need is the Radius of the inner circle so that we can draw a perfect curve to cut your template out with.

To calculate a radius: (waist length / 3.14) / 2 = (28 inches / 3.14) / 2 = 8.91 / 2 = 4.45inches. Therefore, points A to B is 4.45 inches.

Step 3: Drawing onto the newspaper:

For the purpose of this section, I am drawing onto a smaller piece of paper so that it is easier for me to take pictures.

Circle Skirt Template - Folding

Circle Skirt Template - Folding

First, take your paper and fold in into 4 like the picture below.

Circle Skirt Template - start drawing at this corner

Circle Skirt Template - start drawing at this corner

 

 

 

 

 

You want to start drawing your inner circle first. Start with this corner.

Circle Skirt Template - Drawing inner cirlce

 

 

 

 

 

Next, use a ruler to dot the point of 4.45 inches from the tip of the paper. Join the dots to draw the curve of the inner circle.

Circle Skirt Template - Drawing the outer circle

 

 

Do the same for the outer circle.

Using a ruler, mark with a dot where the 16 inches point is from the inner curve.

Join the dots.

Circle Skirt Template - cutting

Circle Skirt Template - cutting

 

 

Now, you can cut out the inner circle and the outer circle.

Circle Skirt Template - final piece

Circle Skirt Template - final piece

 

 

 

Open up the outer circle to get the full circle.

 

 

 

 

And your template is done!
Tomorrow, I will put up the rest of the tutorial – waist band template and cutting out the cloth from the template. In the meantime, have a lovely rest of the day! 😉

Leave a Reply

